Suchen

Yagi, Emi: Diary of a Void

A hilarious, feminist read from the new star of Japanese fiction

Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs.

'One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer,' Independent


For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions...


As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her coworkers' dirty cups - because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.

Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go.

Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

'Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.' Kirsty Logan, author of Things We Say in the Dark


B-Format Paperback
Autor Yagi, Emi
Verlag Random House UK
Einband Kartonierter Einband (Kt)
Erscheinungsjahr 2023
Seitenangabe 224 S.
Meldetext Lieferbar in 24 Stunden
Ausgabekennzeichen Englisch
Masse H19.8 cm x B12.9 cm x D1.4 cm 159 g
Coverlag Vintage (Imprint/Brand)

Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs.

'One of the most intriguing new novels of the summer,' Independent


For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions...


As the only woman in her office, Ms Shibata is expected to do all the menial tasks. One day she announces that she can't clear away her coworkers' dirty cups - because she's pregnant and the smell nauseates her. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.

Pregnant Ms Shibata doesn't have to serve coffee to anyone. Pregnant Ms Shibata isn't forced to work overtime. Pregnant Ms Shibata can rest, watch TV, take long baths, and even join an aerobics class for expectant mothers. But she has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

Diary of a Void will keep you turning the pages to see just how far Ms Shibata will go.

Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

'Darkly funny and surprisingly tender.' Kirsty Logan, author of Things We Say in the Dark


B-Format Paperback
CHF 20.50
Verfügbarkeit: Am Lager
ISBN: 978-1-5291-1481-2
Verfügbarkeit: Lieferbar in 24 Stunden

Über den Autor Yagi, Emi

Emi Yagi (Author)
Emi Yagi is an editor at a women's magazine in Japan. She was born in 1988 and lives in Tokyo. Diary of a Void is her first novel; it won the Osamu Dazai Prize, awarded annually to the best debut work of fiction.

Lucy North (Translator)
Lucy North is a British translator of Japanese fiction and non-fiction. She has translated works by Taeko Kono, Hiromi Kawakami, Fumiko Enchi and Natsuko Imamura.

David Boyd (Translator)
David Boyd is assistant professor of Japanese at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He has translated fiction by Hiroko Oyamada and Hideo Furukawa, among others.

Weitere Titel von Yagi, Emi

Filters
Sort
display